Eye of Obscurance – Release Day Blitz!

Hello, world!! I am really missing the book community, I am itching to come back in full force but sadly I am not yet back at 100%. I am not done with the moving, even if I got a week off work and my parents came for a couple of days. They really helped me out a lot but… There is so much to do!! At least I am slowly coming back. I am back at reading (in the first week of May I just read a couple of pages here and there, but now at least I am reading again, yay!) and I would slowly come back to blogging too. And today I am here for a blog tour organized by Storytellers on Tour so let’s begin!

Title: Eye of Obscurance by Jeffrey L. Kohanek
Published: May 18, 2021
Series: Fate of Wizardoms (#1)
Genre: Epic Fantasy, Sword & Sorcery
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 300

A rollicking adventure: Can a quick-witted thief assassinate an almighty wizard lord?
Power. The ambitious thirst for it.
In a realm where wizards rule, those able to claim a throne are granted the power of a god.
How can one defeat a god?
A clever thief, a determined acrobat, and a troubled dwarf are joined by an old storyteller as they attempt the impossible: Assassinate a wizard lord. Their slim hope relies on an enchanted amulet, the Eye of Obscurance.
These unwitting pawns are embroiled in a contest of wizards. The stakes: The fate of the world.
From bestselling author Jeffrey L. Kohanek comes the first novel in an epic fantasy saga where magic reigns, wizards scheme for power, and the world teeters on the edge of breaking, perfect for readers who enjoy Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson, or Robert Jordan.
Download and prepare for a spectacular, thrilling adventure.

This was a fun and entertaining reading!
We have some interesting characters and an intriguing plot, a fast pace and an interesting magical system. All in all there is a lot going on for this book but, and this is the biggest but for me, this book is almost but not enough. I hope that this makes sense to you.
I mean, it is not a bad book, at all, and I was interested in the story and the characters, but it was like it was missing something. It is a shade under all its possibilities. It could have been an amazing book but, in the end, it is “only” an okay one. And it is not bad to be an okay book, mind me, it is just that this could have been so much more!

We have some pretty interesting characters, Jace is a infamous thief, he is daring and showing and quite the lucky one. His heists are narrated around because he is just so good. And oh my, that was fun!! And then we have Rhoa. She is an acrobat, a really good one, who love her job and her found family. But there is more about her.
(Even if here we have another thing that made me pause, Rhoa is an excellent acrobat but it seems like the theft of the amulet was her first con/heist and she was amazing at it, it wasn’t a rookie thing at all, maybe there is more to her past that we don’t know yet, but it didn’t feel like it and this was something that needs some smoothing over). Anyway, those two are pretty great, and I would have loved for more banter between them. It would have been perfect!!
But they are not the only good characters in there, because we have Rawk too, and he was noteworthy, and the princess. Even if I preferred by a long shot her bodyguard. But I am not complaining for the banter here, because the dialogues between those two were pretty good!
And then we have some secondary characters that are pretty interesting too, like Salvon, he is such a good person, and I wanted to spend more time with him!

Aside from the characters we have an interesting magical system, because in this world magic and religion interwoven and, again, I was hoping for a bit more world-building, especially something more in depth about this system, but it was interesting nonetheless. And the plot! We have an heist, or more than one, we have a quest for vengeance and a man on a mission. And we have a renegade to his people, a princess who find herself in something way too bigger for her, and more. So much more. So yeah, even if I would have loved for this book to be more, it was an enjoyable book anyway and if you are on the right mood for a fast paced story with an heist (and who does not want that?) you are on the right track! 

and half!

Book Links

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51569949-eye-of-obscurance
Amazon:  https://geni.us/hq6IOA9
Audible US: https://www.audible.com/pd/Wizardoms-Eye-of-Obscurance-Audiobook/B07YLZJ3CR
Audible UK: https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Wizardoms-Eye-of-Obscurance-Audiobook/B07YM4HY6K

Author Info

Jeffrey L. Kohanek grew up in rural Minnesota where comic books sparked his young imagination, inspiring fantasies of heroes with super-powers saving the day. His tastes later evolved to fantasy epics featuring unlikely heroes overcoming impossible odds to save worlds born from the writer’s imagination.

Now residing in southern California, Jeff uses that imagination to weave tales of engaging characters caught in fantastic plots to inspire young adults and the child within us all..

Website: http://https//JeffreyLKohanek.com
Facebook: https://facebook.com/JeffreyLKohanek
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jeffrey-l-kohanek
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Jeffrey-L.-Kohanek/e/B01F1G5LTM
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15180818.Jeffrey_L_Kohanek

That’s all for today! Have you read this book? Or any other by this author?? Let me know!

Happy reading!
S.

3 thoughts on “Eye of Obscurance – Release Day Blitz!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s